#FridayFiveChallenge : 30 Days to a Clean and Organized House @rosieamber1

Welcome to the Friday Five Challenge

biscuits

Rosie Amber’s Friday Five challenge only takes five minutes, so grab a cuppa and join in!

In today’s online shopping age, readers often base their buying decisions on small postage stamp size book covers (Thumb-nails), a quick glance at the book description and the review. How much time do they really spend making that buying decision?

AUTHORS – You often only have seconds to get a reader to buy your book, is your book cover and book bio up to it?

The Friday Five Challenge is this….. IN ONLY FIVE MINUTES….

1) Go to any online book supplier,

2) Randomly choose a category,

3) Speed through the book covers, choose one which has instantly appealed to your eye,

4) Read the book Bio/ Description for this book,

5) If there are reviews, check out a couple,

6) Make an instant decision, would you BUY or PASS?

Inspired by last week’s challenge, I decided that this week I would trust Amazon again and see what it recommended. For some reason that I really cannot understand, this was one of the first books suggested:

clean

Amazon.co.uk  Amazon.com

Price: £3.18 (Kindle) and £5.18 (paperback) in the UK and $4.91 (Kindle) and $7.99 (paperback)in the US.

Now, I’m absolutely snowed under with work at the moment. I’ll admit that my house probably isn’t as clean and organised as it could be. And I’ll admit that kind of stresses me out because I do like a clean and organised house. I’m having to ignore the dog hair and the filthy oven. I haven’t hoovered the skirting boards for weeks. Has Amazon been spying on me? How do they know? Could this book be the answer?

Book description:

Are you overwhelmed by clutter? Ashamed of your home? Wondering where to start tackling the mess and how you’ll find time to do it? Using this 30-Day Plan you can clean and organize your entire house on YOUR schedule.

– The daily cleaning routine will have your home company-ready in just minutes a day
– Easy-to-follow cleaning plans guide you through purging clutter and deep-cleaning every room in your home
– Work at your own pace and fit a deep-cleaning and thorough organizing into YOUR schedule
– Step-by-step instructions and helpful flowcharts will show you how

PLUS you’ll get recipes for 10 of my homemade cleaning mixes so you can make your own cleansers using ingredients you may already have in your kitchen. Here are just a few:

– Bathroom disinfectant spray
– Soft scrubbing cleanser
– Glass and window cleaner
– Furniture polish AND MORE!

When you’re finished the Monthly Cleaning Routine will show you how to keep your home just as clean and organized in less time than you’re probably spending now!

Reviews

Fourteen in  the UK, all four and five star. Forty-five in the US, mostly four and five star, two 3 star reviews. There is one 1 star review which has been given because the customer didn’t receive the book. Oh. So, the reviews are pretty impressive. But something’s holding me back. For some reason I just know this is going to be a PASS.

Analysis

Great reviews. And I clearly need to get organised. So surely this should be a BUY? Hmmm, well. I took a look inside. I love this feature. It’s stopped me wasting so much money on books that look great and turn out not to be.

So – what can this book teach me? How can I get a spotless sparkling house?

Well, apparently I need to make the bed every day. And wipe the kitchen down. Replace dirty towels with clean ones. Really? REALLY? I need to spend three quid to learn this? I know that’s what I need to do. I don’t have the time to do it. I want a magic wand to wave all the dirt away. I think that might cost me more than £3.00

So, unless you’re a complete idiot that doesn’t know that dirty towels need replacing, then this book isn’t going to help.

It isn’t a magic wand. It’s common sense.

At the end of the day, I don’t believe there is a magic formula and I don’t believe that any of those reviewers really didn’t have time to do their housework. They fitted it in somewhere because they had to, because if they hadn’t the children would have all died of some nasty bacterial disease and they would have been wearing the same pants for a week.

I’m a busy woman. I don’t have time for these patronising books. That’s why it’s a pass.

If you want to join in the Friday Five Challenge pop over to Rosie’s blog to find out more.

And take a look at these other Friday Five Challenges:

Rosie’s checking out a dead detective

Supernatural meets Sons of Anarchy for Shelley.

A light read for Cathy

Barb is feeling a bit frustrated

7 comments

  1. Big brother has been watching you – but this type of book is only good if you are ready to tackle the house. Sounds like you haven’t time at the moment. I’ve already got a couple of books on this theme already, so I would PASS today, but the title is promising.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I figured it out years ago. I don’t need a book to tell me how to get a clean house, or even one to tell me how to afford a maid to clean, cook, and organize. What I need is a wife—one of those Betty Crocker designs from the fifties who wears pearls with her little (ruffled) apron and who knows how to make croquettes and mix a Tom Collins. (Funny, my husband says the same thing…)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Reblogged this on Barrow Blogs: and commented:
    Missed this on Friday – reading it at this time of day on a depressingly wet Monday morning makes me wish I hadn’t found it now. Looking around I can see what wants doing ‘domestic trivia’- wise. Think I’ll get my laptop and go back to bed to write.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

