Wednesday Wing….Should you write dreams into your work? #wwwblogs #WriterTips

More great advice for writers from a reader’s point of view.

Rosie Amber

Welcome to my new feature called Wednesday Wing where I’ll be passing on

observations, tips and information to readers I’ve made a note of.

Rosie's Notebook

Today I’m passing on a tip about DREAMS in you writing.

Using dreams in your work has been used for years, just look at Charles Dickens and “A Christmas Carol” but now it’s a technique which is often used poorly in writing. Kirsten Lamb explains it really concisely and much better than I ever will to check out this post

When Dreams Go Bad—Dream Sequences, What Works & What Flops

What happens when I read about dreams as a reader?

Opening lines

If your book opens with a dream sequence my eyes roll upwards and I think “OH NO!” This is because as Kirsten explains, the hook you use to open the book, becomes a lie and you are in fact sublimely saying to the reader…

View original post 393 more words

Leave a Reply

