#FridayFiveChallenge @rosieamber1 ‘It’s Raining Purple Bananas & Other Such Stuff’ by Calum D Robertson

biscuits

Welcome to the Friday Five Challenge

Rosie Amber’s Friday Five challenge only takes five minutes, so grab a cuppa and join in!

In today’s online shopping age, readers often base their buying decisions on small postage stamp size book covers (Thumb-nails), a quick glance at the book description and the review. How much time do they really spend making that buying decision?

AUTHORS – You often only have seconds to get a reader to buy your book, is your book cover and book bio up to it?

The Friday Five Challenge is this….. IN ONLY FIVE MINUTES….

1) Go to any online book supplier,

2) Randomly choose a category,

3) Speed through the book covers, choose one which has instantly appealed to your eye,

4) Read the book Bio/ Description for this book,

5) If there are reviews, check out a couple,

6) Make an instant decision, would you BUY or PASS?

A couple of weeks ago, fellow Friday Five Challenger Terry Tyler used a random word to find her pick for the Friday Five Challenge (here). Good idea I thought, I’ll try that next time. ‘Think of a word,’ I shouted to my husband. ‘Raining,’ he said – no idea why, but I went with it.

After scrolling through countless books called ‘It’s Raining Men’, this caught my eye:

purple bananas

Amazon.co.uk    Amazon.com

The white background is a bit bland, but I liked the title and the font. But I had absolutely no idea what the book was about.

Turns out it’s a children’s book. Oh well, mine are 16 and 19, so not really the right audience, but I do have nephews of a suitable age, so I thought I’d take a look.

Price: £1.14 in the UK and $1.72 in the US. Not bad.

Book description:

A head full of nonsense from the king of the dorks, put into print not just for bedtime but any time, and for children of “all” ages!

And that’s it. I’m not convinced, and I still have no clue as to what it’s about.

Reviews

One 5 star in the UK. No reviews at all in the US. The book was published in December 2013, so alarm bells are ringing. The 5 star reviewer has reviewed nothing else at all. Hmmm.

I’ve really got nothing to go on, so I had a ‘Look Inside’. There’s just a bit of a nonsense poem, so again, not much help.

Would I buy or pass? PASS (even if my children were small)

Analysis

There’s nothing here to make me want to buy this book. The blurb tells me nothing at all, there are no useful reviews and there’s not enough to go on even with the Look Inside feature. To be honest, I wouldn’t normally have even looked inside. The cover doesn’t really tell me it’s a children’s book in the first place. Disappointing.

Looking for a book? Take a look at these other FridayFiveChallenges:

Between the Lines

Rosie Amber

Barb Taub

Terry Tyler

If you want to join in the Friday Five Challenge pop over to Rosie’s blog to find out more.

6 comments

  1. I agree the book cover does nothing to say it’s a children’s book. A white background might look good when choosing a cover but when browsing online many of our screens back ground are already white and it doesn’t show up well.
    I don’t think using the word “Dork” in the book description is a positive word to help sell a book. A PASS from me too.

    Like

  2. The author isn’t doing himself any favour with the cover and such a lack of information. Nothing really says it’s a children’s book, it would have to be a pass for me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

